MP Jorien Wuite leaves Dutch Second Chamber

— Receives applause for her efforts for Caribbean —

On Tires-day, December 5, 79 Mem­bers of Parliament (MPs) left the Dutch Second Chamber of Parliament following the recent elec­tions. Jorien Wuite, former St. Maarten Minister Pleni­potentiary and first-ever Dutch MP of St. Maarten descent, was one of them. In her speech, President of the Second Chamber Vera Bergkamp reflected on the importance of Wuite’s ef­forts for the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

Jorien Wuite.

“Dear Jorien, you intro­duced us to Aunt Marjorie and the resilience of St. Maarten. Doing so, you brought the Caribbean and European Nether­lands closer together. You proved how important it is that the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom are personally represented in the Cham­ber. Moreover, you demon­strated that you have a big heart for culture. I sincerely hope that the new Cham­ber will take up both ba­tons. I would like to thank you in all the languages of the Kingdom: Masha dank, thank you very much, het ga je goed!,” Bergkamp said.

Wuite announced in Au­gust that she would not be standing for re-election for the Dutch parliamentary elections.

Besides Wuite, four other members of the Permanent Kingdom Relations Com­mittee of the Dutch Second Chamber of Parliament left the Chamber: Atje Kuiken (PvdA), Joba van den Berg (CDA), Kauthar Bouchalikht (GroenLinks) and Syl­vana Simons (BIJI). Only Roelien Kamminga (VVD) and Don Ceder (CU) will keep their seats, but it is uncertain whether they will resume their efforts for the Caribbean parts of the Kingdom in the Kingdom Relations Committee.

The new Dutch Second Chamber of Parliament will be sworn in today, Wednes­day, December 6.

The Daily Herald.

Paternotte succeeds Jorien Wuite in the Committee for Kingdom Relations.
New Saba fire station has official opening

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Saba News